(Chicago, IL) The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting: A Remedy for Wrong, presented by Better Government Association will be held via a virtual video ceremony at 4:00 p.m. on June 8, 2021.

Judged by a rotating panel of journalists and media educators, the awards highlight the impact of Illinois investigative reporting as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud and corruption.

Thank you to the newsroom across Illinois that submitted compelling investigations.  We are pleased to report that we received almost 30 stories.  While we are no longer accepting submissions, please join us June 8 as we announce the winner of this year’s Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting.  

More details about the awards:


1st Place – $15,000

2nd Place – $7,000

3rd Place – $4,000

Readers’ Choice – $1,000

Visit the Awards page at award.bettergov.org.

Deadline for Submissions: Entries must be submitted by Friday, April 2, 2021, 11:59 PM CT.

Questions: Contact Nina Fuentes at nfuentes@bettergov.org or 312-821-3042 ext. 9042.