The Better Government Association is now accepting submissions for the 2011 Richard H. Driehaus Investigative Awards. Judged by a rotating panel of journalists and media educators, the awards highlight the impact of investigative reports as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud and corruption. Not only will investigative techniques be considered in the selection, but also winning entries will have prompted reforms, criminal proceedings or have made significant contributions to inform the public on government issues.

Qualified entries include newspaper, television, radio, web reports and political cartoons published from January 1, 2010 – December 31, 2010. Entries are judged on the quality of the investigative reporting and the effectiveness of the piece to prompt change, as evaluated by the following elements: accuracy, clarity and completeness; difficulty in obtaining sources; resourcefulness; and impact of piece.

Monetary Awards

  • 1st Place: $2,500

  • 2nd Place: $1,500

  • 3rd Place: $1,000

>> To apply, complete the application found here. Send the completed application and eight hard copies of your submission to:

Mary Frances O’Connor
Better Government Association
223 W. Jackson, Ste 620, Chicago, IL 60606
O: 312.821.9026
F: 312.821.9038

Deadline for submissions: Friday, March 18, 2011.

The awards ceremony will be held at a luncheon in Chicago on May 4, 2011.