Update: The BGA is no longer accepting submissions for the 2019 Awards. 

ABOUT THE AWARDS: Judged by a rotating panel of journalists and media educators, the awards highlight the impact of Illinois investigative reporting as a reform tool within the context of state and local government waste, fraud and corruption. In addition to using credible and impressive investigative techniques, the winning entries will have made significant contributions to inform the public on issues of government corruption and prompted reforms.


1st Place – $15,000

2nd Place – $7,000

3rd Place – $4,000

See last year’s winners.

TO APPLY: Submit your information to this online form.

Questions? Call 312-821-9042 or email smatheny@bettergov.org.

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS: Entries must be submitted by Friday, March 15th, 2019 — midnight into Saturday. The 2019 Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Investigative Reporting are presented with the generous support of The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation. The Driehaus Foundation supports investigative reporting that fosters greater transparency, accountability, and effectiveness in government institutions at the local level.